Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers
London & South East Branch

ICS home 02

Our Officers 2020-2021

officer Chris Hibbert 3

Christopher Hibbert FICS

Chris runs his own company and has been employed in dry cargo chartering, acting on behalf of Charterers, and Commodity Houses. He became a member of the Institute in 1981, and is keen to support the Institute‚Äôs profile and educational initiatives throughout his career. He is also a long time member of The Baltic Exchange. He is the Branch representative on Controlling Council.



Michael Robarts FICS
Vice Chairman

Mike started his career at sea as a Deck Officer on VLCC tankers, Ro/Ro ships before coming Master and is now a pilot for a UK major port. He is also an Independent Marine Advisor and Designated Person for a Board of Directors.


officer Jeffrey Blum 3

Jeffrey Blum FICS
Education Officer

Jeffrey Blum has been involved in shipping and trading since 1972. He is the fourth generation of a shipping and freight forwarding family, has been a member of the Baltic Exchange since 1976 and has worked in marine insurance, competitive and exclusive shipbroking, ship owning and operating, chartering and commodities trading in London and abroad. He has also been an Expert Witness since 1983 and an arbitrator since 1994, when he also founded his own claims consultancy company.

Since 1984 he has been lecturing on several subjects of commercial shipping and maritime law at universities and colleges (including his own since 2002) in London and globally. He is a long-term Visiting Professor at the World Maritime University at Malmo and the Shanghai Maritime University and is a frequent guest presenter at bespoke, academic and public training conferences and masterclass workshops worldwide. 

He was Education Officer of the L&SE Branch 2000-2015, was Chairman of our branch 2005-2007 and again Vice Chairman 2015-2017. He served on several international committees and the Controlling Council of the Institute for many years.

Michael Harrison FICS
Secretary / Treasurer

Mike has worked in shipping for more than 46 years and was Managing Director of Cory Brothers Shipping before retiring in 2012, he has extensive knowledge of Ports and Port Agency. Mike was also Chairman of the London & South East Branch 2001-2003. He is a Trustee of the Institute's Education Trust Fund.


Committee Members
Antonios Alexandropoulos FICS
David O'Sullivan FICS (Past Chairman)
Jonathan Marks FICS
Kaihui Ni FICS
Marianna Xifara MICS
Pankhuri Poddar FICS
Richard Scott FICS
Vladislava Todorov MICS

Controlling Council Representative
Christopher Hibbert FICS

Co-opted Member
Hannah Kimani-Blanco MICS

Student Representative
Hannah Kimani-Blanco MICS